It’s Been a While

I wish I had a reason. But I really don’t. 

There has been quite a gap between postings here at This Heart. My bad, I guess?

I’m certain that all of you were waiting with baited breath to see what I would share next. You guys are all awesome like that. 

So, spring arrived…and then promptly left again. Then, we were pelted with some snow and ice just this past weekend. The cold and soggy days seem to be mostly behind us, and it now appears that spring might be here for reals this time, but we shall see. 

I wish I could tell you that we have been making great use of our time, but I’m not sure that’s true. There has been quite a lot of running around lately. Lot’s of things to do, lots of places to be. 

Suddenly, it’s nearly the middle of April and I feel like 2016 is flying by in a flash. 

We have officially entered the toddler badlands around here. My sweet, fuzzy-headed youngest has turned into a feral eighteen month old. Perhaps it’s because this is my third time at this rodeo, but it was almost as if I could sense when the switch had flipped immediately. 

So now, there is quite a lot of weeping and gnashing of teeth when I don’t let her feed herself yogurt – which she is terrible at doing- or when I don’t let her put everyone’s toothbrushes in the toilet. Sad, I know.

We are learning to live with one another, and sometimes, I can palpably sense the disappointment she has in her mother. Before now, mommy has been her world. Now mommy is just a big ball of “NO!!!” and “DON’T touch that,” all of the time. 

Who would think that mommy would be so sensitive and moody about someone emptying an entire new container of baby wipes or to running around with the pointy end of a pencil in their mouth??

 

ellie crying floor2

elliecryingfloor4

eleanor crying

Pray for her as she navigates through these difficult years ahead. 

In all seriousness though, I was telling my husband just the other night about how sometimes, I want to do things for my children that they are perfectly capable of doing for themselves. 

My reasoning is that they have the rest of their lives to clean up and look after themselves, and it gets so hard once they reach adulthood. Like, so so hard. Like, I wish someone would make me take a nap, put my clothes away and cut the crust off of my peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

I want to stretch out this carefree time in their lives for as long as possible. 

…Even though I really don’t want to do every little thing for them for forever. I want to raise caring and capable children into caring and capable adults. And you can’t get there if you coddle them for forever. 

Still, it pains me to see the look in my youngest’s eyes as she learns that life doesn’t always go her way. You can’t always stand on the bottom step of the fridge with the door hanging wide open, trying to knock condiments and salad dressing onto the floor. 

Of course you can’t. But “no” is a hard thing to grasp. It’s been a while since we have dealt with toddlerdom and all of its issues. Still, it’s time now. It’s time to tame the diaper wearing beast. 

I have lots of things on the back burner around here that I can’t wait to share with all of you. I hope that spring is finding you well and in good spirits.

Or at least in mediocre spirits? Sounds good.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “It’s Been a While

  1. Becca says:

    OMG — thank God that He has our little ones looking so dern cute when they are throwing tantrums…otherwise, we’d probably kill them. :/ Yours is particularly beautiful/adorable/cute!!! Miss you!
    xoxoxoxo

    Like

  2. N. says:

    Ah yes, the infamous terrible twos 😁 We’ve been in that stage for over half a year now and I don’t see the end in sight yet 🙈 I’m sure though that it will end eventually, it has to right?
    Spring is definitely being elusive this year, so here’s to hoping it finally gets it’s butt over here 😂

    Like

  3. Sugar, Spice, Everything Nice says:

    Aahh! This made me laugh out loud…I have a 2 year old who does the same thing…puts her little head down like I broke her heart when I tell her she can’t color on the couch with that crayon. Someday, we will miss this. But not today…

    Like

Join the conversation!

