Why I blog

Roughly every twelve months, I have an existential blogging crisis.

I look at my numbers: followers, comments, views – whatever, and declare that they aren’t good enough, even though they have grown every year which is nothing to be bummed about.

I always wonder why I keep going because I never want to force what I’m doing over here. But this year is the first year that I truly feel like my “message” has become streamlined. And I’m really happy about it.

I’m probably never going to be a blogging machine. When it comes to blogging, I feel like I sometimes feel when I’m in a crowd of other parents I don’t really know very well, and I don’t quite fit in with.

When you’re blogging about parenting on a consistent basis and building an audience, you need a schtick. And I feel like you need to fall into either one category or another in order to thrive (and I’m totally generalizing here):

  • You’re either the constantly optimistic, life is of the full-of-grace and savoring-every-moment variety. You’re the perennial super mom, full of wisdom with chocolates on your pillow at night.
  • You’re overly sarcastic. You don’t hesitate to go there just like you wouldn’t hesitate to call your kids miniature a-holes in one of your posts. You’re the perpetually caustic mother/parent, and people appreciate your brash “honesty.”

The truth is, I’m probably neither of those things.

I actually had a post published on The Huffington Post this past spring. I was elated about it and I still am. I’ve heard back from Scary Mommy, only my schtick in one piece was a dime a dozen at the moment and the other post probably had too much about Jesus in it.

Maybe I’m not irreverent enough to be a Scary Mommy. Maybe I’m not that scary, except when I am, just nobody sees me like that except for my children when they have smashed putty into my white table-cloth right after I told them not to smash putty into my white table-cloth. 

Maybe I’m just the parent, content to do the everyday stuff without trying to polish it up to make it sound much better than it is, because can anybody make cleaning toilets sound even slightly better? Maybe I’m just the parent who is content to live out her calling as best she can without needing an audience…or perfection…or a drink.

Maybe I just want to sound joyful and realistic about what it is that I do, because that’s what we all need. Realistic perspectives, healthy perspectives, hopeful, honest perspectives.

Maybe you’re that parent, too. Which is maybe why you’re probably sort of here?

If you’re looking for all of the answers to everything that ails parents, you aren’t going to find it here. But you will find some encouragement and some humor to make those days where everything goes to hell in a hand basket over a grilled cheese sandwich and the television remote just the tiniest bit easier, because I’ve been there.

Like lots of other moms before us. Probably all of them.

 

 

This is part of my NaBloPoMo series. Where I’m told I’m supposed to post at least once a day for the entire month of November. I’m going to do my best. If you like what you’re reading, like my Facebook page or click follow in the toolbar to the right <—-…

Wait, that’s the left.

In the toolbar to the right —–>

 

Thanks!

 

2 thoughts on “Why I blog

  1. Vickie Ceccato says:

    Woah, I just wrote a post about this today…about blogging that is. Sigh, I’m not sure where I might fit into the mommy blogging universe, but I do know that my blog is mine, all mine, and whatever happens, wherever it goes, I’m not going to give up on it. It’s the one place where I don’t answer to anyone but myself.

    Like

Join the conversation!

