In which I am featured on Huffington Post Parents

There goes the neighborhood. 

This weekend, I have practically demolished an entire pan of lemon poppy seed muffins, eaten what probably amounts to five pounds of graham crackers smothered in peanut butter, and watched all of the Scream series. 

Clearly, my life is enthralling. 

My house is a mess from top to bottom. Dishes are overflowing. Laundry is slightly backed up. The floors desperately need to be mopped. Tomorrow is Monday. The oil needs to be changed in the car. I need to turn in my son’s homework. My husband is going to be out-of-town for nearly five days, starting this Thursday. 

But that’s okay. Because, on Friday, I was featured on The Huffington Post!

That’s right, there goes the neighborhood. 

I’m super stoked. I needed a win. I sat practically in tears, talking to my husband Thursday night, about how burnt out I feel about everything. I want something that is mine, I said. And there are things that I am working on, sure. But I want something that just feels like my own, that I feel like I progress in. Because motherhood is many things, but it is not something that happens overnight.

Things will look the same for a long time, until one day, suddenly, they aren’t. Your kids can sing their ABC’s or remember to use their manners. Your infant sleeps through the night. Your son loses his first tooth or your daughter uses the potty for the first time. Suddenly, there is a breakthrough. But it’s painstaking. And I want to feel like there is SOMETHING in my life that is moving forward. 

I thought that would be the end of it. I’d vent my frustrations, then the next day would be a brand new one, and life would continue on. 

And then I received an email while nursing my daughter around lunch time on Friday. A post I’d written and emailed in, never shared on my blog, would be featured on The Huffington Post.

I have been blogging here at This Heart for almost 4 years. This was the first time I’d ever submitted anything to any type of publication. It had been weeks ago, and I’d since forgotten all about it. 

I know this is both a huge milestone and a stepping stone. I may never be featured again. But this week, I felt so dissatisfied and unfulfilled with blogging and writing. My followers and clicks have hovered around the same numbers for quite some time. And while I aim to simply be genuine and write what I want to write, and not be enslaved to the stats on my blog, in my heart of hearts…it would be nice to feel like blogging isn’t just one more thing that doesn’t progress for me. 

Then God said, just kidding, here you go, kid. 

I was stoked. I let a few folks know what the heck was going on. I was asked to submit a bio and a headshot. I thought I’d be given a date it would eventually be featured for some time in the near future. Oh, no. They wanted it online Friday. 

No pressure, right?

HuffPo

I formulated a bio, chose a headshot – both of which felt true to myself and what I do, conveniently omitting the fact that I could eat a bag of chocolate chips by myself and occasionally pick my nose in the car. 

Didn’t want to scare them off just yet. 

And it was featured. It’s hovering at around 200 likes on their website. I have no idea how many times it has been viewed. I have no idea if this means I will ever be asked back or have another post accepted. 

But at least I’ve done. By golly, I did it once in my life. And that is something

We ordered pizza for dinner, and I enjoyed a Dr. Pepper, and didn’t count the calories. I let the kids have a friend over for hours. 

It’s been a good weekend. It’s been mostly the same around here. I haven’t made anybody kiss my ring- yet. But I’m pretty sure that now, on paper, I am awesome. I’ve always kind of known it, but now I have a small bit of proof, right?

I’ll take it. 

 

20 thoughts on “In which I am featured on Huffington Post Parents

  1. Friend says:

    You ARE awesome, Ashley!!! 🙂 I’m uber excited for you — about to go read the post now and am grinning ear to ear!!!!!!!!
    So proud of you and your strong heart – keep at it, chica. 😀
    xoxoxoxoxoxox

    Like

      • Friend says:

        And…because I like hitting “reply” to my own posts…heehee…

        I just read the post and, as anticipated, it was beautiful. 🙂 I love that you included the picture at the end!!! I heard so many other moms in that story (my mom worrying about Ross having her big feet; my cousin’s long, hard labor…). I am so excited for you!!! As Tom so aptly put it, Huffington Post has some of the most thought-provoking, widely-read articles (at least on Disability!) and is really picky about its writers. Be super proud they chose you to represent mothers everywhere — you ROCK!!!! 😀

        BECCA

        Like

      • ashleylecompte says:

        THANKS, BECCA!!! I have decided that you need to come home for a weekend and hang out on the couch???! I miss you like whoa. You were one of the first supporters of my blog, so thank you so, so much for every ounce of encouragement that you have given me. It means so much to me. Love you!

        Like

  2. andthreetogo says:

    Congratulations! I too have often felt that this blogging thing stagnates and can become frustrating. I am so glad that you got a win! I am surprised that you haven’t been published on Huff Post before, I love your articles! Congrats!

    Like

  3. shelahmoss says:

    Congratulations! The Huffington Post is lucky to have you. I know that burnt out feeling. It’s good when something happens to shake us out of it.

    Like

  4. Traci Rhoades says:

    A fun post sharing your exciting news. There are so many reasons we write and blog but a little recognition always feels great. Bask in it (and enjoy every sip of that Dr. Pepper)!

    Like

  5. mamabyfire says:

    Yay!! Congratulations-that is so exciting!! Blogging can get discouraging sometimes, especially when we can see our stats whenever we want (I usually try not to look). You definitely deserved a win that was completely all yours!! Now you know you should submit more-you won’t get featured unless you submit!

    Like

Join the conversation!

