Something New

Today was my birthday. I turned 29.

No, really, it’s okay. I’m actually not as worried about it as I thought I was going to be. 

You might want to check back in with me next year, when I hit the big 3-0 (gasp.) But for now, I really am okay with entering the last full year of my 20’s.

I want to try something new this year. It’s called embracing where I am. Very enlightening, no? This post might at first sound like I am merely coping with where I am and simply accepting that which I cannot change. Which would be only slightly true. 

But really, this year? I’m kind of okay with it. All of it.

154514_399777446728229_1803617089_n

What did I do today? I woke up to a sink full of dishes, laundry to be washed and two bed-headed children. It was a lot like a normal day, but in some ways it wasn’t.

God has been reminding me of the nature and truth of seasons as of late. Reminding me that you need all four seasons to make a year. That when one season comes and brings its bounty, something else has to give and pull away. Sometimes just a little, other times a lot.

All of life is change and growth, movements and currents. And the life more fulfilled finds the meaning and joy in each season’s gifts, and continues to have hope even in their darkest moments. A life worth living is one that gives way to the ebbs and flows of time.

Heck, as I write this, my child is stirring within me. It will be her time to turn 30 one day. And don’t I want that for her? For all of my children? Thirty and beyond! But for that to happen, I have to get a lot older, don’t I? Part of getting to watch them grow with the passing of time is letting myself also grow with the passing of time. It’s the nature of life.

Life doesn’t stay put, not even for a second.

The best that we can do? See it for its purpose and meaning and make peace with it. And with ourselves. 

None of us is promised tomorrow. None of us is promised happiness. None of us is promised comfort. None of us is promised 30 candles on our birthday cake.

I used to hate seeing all of those candles lit up. A reminder of the things that I hadn’t succeeded in or achieved. The scrap booking (!) The home projects (!!) College (barf!) The personal work (blogging.) It used to be a big bruise for me. Each candle a mental note of things left unfinished.

Now the way I see it, each candle means something good. As the years pass, I find more and more people to share my table with. I find more and more about my children and my husband to love. I find more and more reasons to profess with a glad heart that God is good. Each new candle means that I (Lord willing) get another chance to try the things I want to try. And hopefully, to end up experiencing the things I hadn’t thought I would. 

We aren’t promised ease and comfort. But we are promised meaning. We are promised joy. We are promised hope. The life worth living is the life worth giving away, the life lived from the inside out.

So, that’s kind of why I’m not as worried as I used to be about turning 30. I’m not as anxious about the fact that my birthday cake looks like it could start a small house fire. Plus, I get cake…so there’s that.

IMG_7275

15 thoughts on “Something New

  1. Pocketful of Motherhood says:

    Great reflections! Growing older used to make me squirm a lot more, but you are so right…it’s the nature of life and it’s nice to just be at peace with it and let it be what it is. And btw…I love the 30’s, but I remember not being so excited about it as I was approaching it. Not sure how it is that I’m already 31 but I love this season! 🙂

    Like

    • ashleylecompte says:

      Thank you so much!! I used to squirm, too. Now, I’m getting more and more okay with all of it. It’s been a bit better to just have peace about it. I hope it lasts, though. I may have to recommit myself to that notion over and over again. 🙂

      Like

  2. The Vanilla Housewife says:

    Oh honey, I’d like to read this again when I hit forty! LOL I’m in my EARLY 30’s (just want to make that clear 😉 and I dread every single birthday. When people ask me how old I am, it always feels like I’m swallowing a rock. Hahahaha. That’s just me though. 😉

    Happy birthday! I hope you had loads of fun!

    Like

    • ashleylecompte says:

      Thank you!!!! 30 is actually sounding kind of fun! I’m sure I’ll get to other points and have to remind myself to make peace with it all, all over again. But yay for 35!!! Many more for you, friend!

      Like

  3. Less to More says:

    Happy birthday! Encouraged by your thoughts on this. I know you probably hear it from older folks like me, but you’re still young. Wait till you get to my age! Looking at all the comments from the fellow mommy bloggers, you all can just call me “Grandma”!

    Like

Join the conversation!

