Mom’s Speak: Wife/Mom/Chef/Housecleaner/Superhero/Crazy Person

Mother’s Day is coming.

You probably knew that already, didn’t you?

I look forward to Mother’s Day. A day where moms out there are showered with affection, groveled at and shown some good old fashion attention for all that they do. It used to be that for Mother’s Day, I wanted all of the things. I wanted the pampering. The extra sleep. The meal out. The house cleaned. You name it, and for Mother’s Day, I would have eagerly taken it.

Times, they are a changing for me.

Mother’s Day is great time for us moms to survey all that we have and to be grateful for where we are in our lives. I’m finding out that holidays, such birthdays and Mother’s Day, aren’t really about me very much, they’re about the people around me.

Cute but sneaky.

Cute but sneaky.

The sign of a good Mother’s Day and birthday are now those that I have to share it with. That makes it for me.

But, let’s be honest here, I do relish the pampering. Having breakfast made for me. Or some time to sleep in without having a little person climb into bed with me and ask for a bowl of cereal. A nice meal, maybe a fresh hair cut. That stuff, that stuff is pretty sweet. I would take that stuff any time during the year.

Because moms (and dads, respectively on Father’s Day) earn it. They earn just a little bit of a reprieve. Do you know what I find more appealing than gifts? Appreciation. Appreciation for the tedious things that I do. While I know that my children are a good ways away from acknowledging my angst over figuring out how to make the perfect lasagna, or packing away their baby clothes, it still tickles my heart to know that my actions are seen and heard and appreciated.

I read a post on The Stir recently that allowed for moms to comment anonymously, and share the tasks that they not only HATE doing, but the ones they feel like no one notices that they do. And I loved that idea.

Mister Baby

Mister Baby

I am asking for people to comment and tell us about the chores/tasks/child-wrangling duties that you hate doing and wish people noticed that you did. Clipping your children’s toe nails? Scrubbing the toilet? Dusting the ceiling fan?

Tell me about it. Seriously, tell me about it. Comment below, feel free to do so anonymously.  Closer to Mother’s Day, I’ll do a compilation post that you can feel free to share with whomever. Please, don’t make me do this by myself, people. Let’s get some honest to goodness momesty**going on.

 

 

**momesty: the act of moms, being honest. About the good stuff and the not so good stuff. 

5 thoughts on “Mom’s Speak: Wife/Mom/Chef/Housecleaner/Superhero/Crazy Person

  1. ashleylecompte says:

    I’ll start

    My husband and I have been having to remind my almost five-year old that he doesn’t belong in the refrigerator. He will just open up the door and stand there, smiling. For no reason.

    Also, I HATE sorting clothes that my children have grown out of. For one thing, it seems like every time you turn around, there are more clothes that they don’t fit into. It’s always a mountain of clothes that I have to figure out what to do with.

    I also hate wrestling my son to clip his toe nails, and pinning my daughter down to comb her hair. Can’t. Stand. It.

    Happy commenting! (I hope!)

    Like

  2. Becca Barringer Webb says:

    Firstly, I don’t think one can comment anonymously and, if I can, please tell me how! ;P
    Secondly, I’m not a Mom, but mother my husband with a disability, so I think that counts! 😉

    So here goes! I hate dusting and wish it was noticed, haha. Everyone sees the vacuum lines on the floor and knows you cleaned the carpets, but hardly anyone pays attention to the dust bunnies until they’ve gotten WAY out of control. And it’s tedious…pick things up, wipe the surface, put things down. Can you say YAWN?!

    Like

    • ashleylecompte says:

      I totally agree! Dusting is thankless work. But, especially if you live in an older house, it’s NECESSARY. And, especially if you have pets, IT’S NECESSARY!!

      And darn, I thought it was set to allow for anonymous comments. Oh well! Hahaha!

      Thanks for the comment, love! xoxo

      Like

  3. lakenormanprep says:

    LOL. We just had a family meeting about this! I do not mind cleaning up, laundry and cooking, but I would love a Thank you every once in a while. Since I brought it up, they are all saying it on a regular basis. It makes me smile. 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation!

