Where It’s At…

One of my own personal goals, not to be confused with a New Year’s Resolution, for the near future is to use my blog more. While I am afforded plenty of opportunity to write and share my thoughts with others, I don’t usually to do this on a regular basis. I’m not disciplined with it, even in the slightest. 

So as I look ahead to this year, and even beyond, my hope is to become more active on my WordPress blog, even if it doesn’t gain me a ton more followers (160 and counting!) or more notoriety. The goal is still to do this for myself. 

I’m kicking off this goal by following a daily prompt on The Daily Post. If you too are interested in writing more and breathing new life into your blog, I suggest this page to you. I won’t follow, or be able to follow, the promptings every day. I simply hope to participate in the ones that I can. 

What’s the what?

I started this blog in the fall of 2011. It’s hard to believe that I am working on YEAR THREE of writing on this thing. What began as a place to intermittently share my thoughts about what mattered most to me has slightly evolved since it all began. I’m more comfortable writing and expressing my thoughts now then when I started, and have dabbled from time to time in writing about subjects within pop culture, and even harder to tackle subjects such as marriage. 

While I love that my blog tends to take on a life of its own, and that the subject matter can change depending on what season of life I am in, I would love to fine tune its purpose and set a foundation for it. Pretty late for that since I’m three years in, right?

Not necessarily. 

The word “purpose” has been running through my mind quite a bit lately. And as I have grown in the two years that I have been writing, I’ve come to the conclusion that this blog either needs to better serve and build upon my relationship with God or I need to just throw in the towel. And while I always thought that my faith had been at the epicenter of what I shared, the truth is that I am now seeing how untrue that is. I always felt like I was writing about the things that I was inspired to write about. 

But then came being enslaved to stat counts, ‘likes’ and follows. I do want to reach a larger audience. However I also believe that you can’t make something happen that isn’t mean to. And that I shouldn’t be living within arbitrary expectations. 

My hope this year, and always, is to truly write about what I feel called to write about. To follow God’s leading. To speak the truth, and not be worried about any repercussions or about not being mainstream enough. That doesn’t mean that there isn’t room for humor, or light heartedness. This is simply a calling that I personally feel. Being more active is great, doing it without faith or purpose is pointless.

I’m not entirely sure how I intend to go about this just yet. But I would love for you all to join me. 

So tell me, why do you write, fellow bloggers? I encourage you all to follow yesterday’s (sorry, I’m a day late) prompt, and consider what hopes and aspirations you have for your blog. And feel free to comment about them below so that I can keep up with you. Link back to your blog if you feel so inclined so that others can find you. 

2 thoughts on “Where It’s At…

Join the conversation!

