She Blogs

I follow “The Girl Who Blogs” and read her posts whenever I can. Her words are thoughtful and refreshing and a great way for me to take my mind off of the routine stuff of everyday. She posted a questionnaire that a blogging buddy of her’s, suzie81’s Blog, has asked WordPress bloggers to answer. And so I figured why not. If you feel up to it, do the same and then link back up to Suzie’s post!!

 

1. Why have you chosen your blog name?

WELL, my blog name has actually changed a few times. This used to make me feel bad but I have since found out that other blogs that I enjoy reading have also changed their blog names on occasion, which makes me feel better about my indecisiveness. *Phew!*

My blog started exclusively as “Ashley’s Devotions,” namely because I couldn’t come up with something better when I started. The idea behind that name was that I would be writing about the things that I felt the most devoted to in my daily life. Namely motherhood, being a wife, staying at home, friendships and so on. It then transitioned into “A Thoughtful Housewife” as my role as a stay at home wife and mother began to evolve. I wanted to show that there was more beneath the obvious surface in child rearing. Now its name is, “This Heart”, and if you feel so inclined you can read on my about page why I chose this title. Basically, I write about the contents of my heart. What inspires it, uplifts it, ails it and fills it. Which is pretty much a bit of everything.

2. When you have an hour of free-time, what do you do?

I always pretend that I’m going to do something EPIC when I have spare time because on a normal day since such a miracle hardly ever happens. I think that a lot of moms do this. Am I right, ladies?? I always think that I’m going to read a great book, give myself an at-home pedicure, write a thoughtful blog post or put new shingles on the roof of our home or something. In truth, I end up on the couch, watching reruns of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, doing the laundry or dishes, or something else equally less grand.

In my dreams, I would instead do productive things that provide an outlet for me or that bless my family immensely. I’m always tickled when I make the time to blog, or when I can find some great time in the Word, or even just in silence. That’s always worthwhile.

3. If you could choose to stay a certain age forever, what would it be?

I’m not sure. Physically a I would take my body at 20, because DUH. Mentally, spiritually and emotionally I like where I am now more than any other point in my life. But I’m sure that will change. When it comes to my children, however, if I could on occasion freeze them so that they wouldn’t grow anymore then I’d be tickled.

4. If you could learn to do something, what would it be?

Right now, I’d choose photography. So that I can translate what and who I see into a photo in the way that *I* see it/them.

5. What would be the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery?

If I were ever fortunate enough to win the lottery I’m pretty sure that we would tithe to our church body first. It may sound boring, but honestly, furnishing our church’s needs, or the needs of a missionary to enable them to continue reaching out to others would be extraordinary. After that, and if we were able, I am sure that Rob and I would want to buy the financial “freedom” of ourselves, and our closest family and friends.

6. What is the thing that makes you absolutely unique?

I will spare you all from anything too in-depth.

What makes me unique is that God made me unique. I’m figuring that out and committing it to memory more and more as time goes on. I am unique, but it has nothing to do with what I have done to make myself that way. I’m an empty, flawed jar of clay. But I am blessed with gifts and traits that make me unique. Much like I am blessed with flaws and weaknesses that make me unique.

Also, I make perfectly moist cookies and other baked goods. Like, oooey-gooey in the middle brownies. It’s a gift and a curse.

7. What is your favorite blog?

This answer may change from time to time. I have friends who blog and I love reading what’s on their heart and being inspired by them. I also love Ann Voskamp’s, “A Holy Experience.”

There you have it. Tidbits of information that you really never needed to know. All in good fun. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “She Blogs

Join the conversation!

