Favorite Things Friday

Let’s start this post with some honesty: I have been a crankster this week.

This week has been nothing short of…long (no pun intended). It began promisingly enough…but then it slowly starting unraveling. And then I began the gradual slide down into a constant attitude of impatience and exhaustion.

It’s been a hectic week. A tuna casserole, trip to the dentist, father in the hospital, teething children, sinus infection kind of week. How does a four-day work-week end up feeling like it takes eons to get through? How does a week that starts off with a childless day-out for the husband and I end up feeling like it was so rotten? I mean, come ON! 6 hours out of the house to OURSELVES?! AND a bloomin’ onion from Outback? Maybe it’s just that when you start at that point, you have nowhere to go but down.

But when I turn on the news and hear the chaos in our country because our elected leaders can’t get along are failing miserably or I see the ravaged shores of the Philippines and hear talk of the potential for thousands upon thousands of souls being lost or I hear about Marines dying from what was a routine training exercise I have to intentionally be grateful about my own life. I have to intentionally look out for goodness. I have to seek out God. Because hope doesn’t always come naturally and instantly. Defeat, and desperation on the other hand? Sometimes, they’re our default settings.

I know that when these tragedies strike, avoidable or unavoidable, people question where God is. I mean, it’s completely understandable. If we can’t see God then surely He can’t see us, right?

Wrong.

Sometimes, we have to simply choose to believe what we know to be true. If for no other reason than because we know it to be true. We have no other remedy for calamity. We have nothing else to go on. We might not feel it, but we have to commit the truth to memory. God is not a God who abandons, God is not a God of senselessness. God is a God who reaches out a hand in the darkness, bidding you to take it. Because He is the only way to healing.

I have much to be thankful for, inconveniences and doubt be darned. It’s been a good week.

Starting off with a family trip to the National Museum of the United Stats Marine Corps. What a better day to mark the USMC’s birthday and Veteran’s Day with our veteran than to introduce the children to a world of courage, commitment and dedication. I cannot wait to keep taking them back every year. And I am unbelievably proud to be able to tell them about their father and his service to his country and to us.

IMG_3335

IMG_3344

Barking orders, I’m sure.

IMG_3346

IMG_3370

 

IMG_3380

Oh yea, that trip to the dentist I was writing about? Guess whose son is already losing some of his baby teeth. This gal’s. I can’t believe it. He wasn’t alarmed, though. Always a trooper! Even in the dentist’s chair.

Someone is already losing his baby teeth and getting, (gasp), grown up teeth!

Someone is already losing his baby teeth and getting, (gasp), grown up teeth!

It's been a take-what-I-can-get kind of week.

It’s been a take-what-I-can-get kind of week.

IMG_3448

My view for dishes, dinner making and, occasionally, coffee sipping.

Enjoying warm blankets, straight from the dryer. Woot!

Enjoying warm blankets, straight from the dryer. Woot!

They enjoyed the warm blankets, I enjoyed the tiny baby feet.

They enjoyed the warm blankets, I enjoyed the tiny baby feet.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things Friday

  1. Georgia says:

    Boo for long weeks. Sorry you had a rough one and bad news around the world got you down. But looks like your little munchkins reminded you of reasons to smile! I can’t believe how fast they’re growing up! xoxox

    Like

Join the conversation!

