Normally, I don’t do this…

But today, I’m going to do it. I’m going to share a recipe. Because it was THAT good.

I’m experimenting with different ways to cook by substituting the less wholesome ingredients with healthier ones. Tonight was a success!

I made a Crunchy Chicken Parmesan that was delicious. And I do mean delicious. I took this recipe from Good Housekeeping and tinkered with it a bit.

Serve this over a bed of pasta, salad or spaghetti squash.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups of Whole wheat bread crumbs – they sound fancy, but I seriously just grabbed a jar of them from my local grocery store, stationed right next to the other bread crumbs.
  • 4 chicken breast cutlets
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cup greek yogurt – whichever brand you would prefer.
  • 1/2 cup parmesan (optional) with extra set aside for some sprinkling action.
  • 1-2 tbsp. of olive oil
  • Half of a red pepper (optional)
  • Half of a yellow onion (optional)
  • Parsley*
  • Garlic*
  • Onion powder*
  • Black pepper*
  • Sea salt* (*to taste)
  • Whole wheat spaghetti – I only had the pasta on hand so that’s what I went with – still limit your pasta, though! 
  • Jar of spaghetti sauce or tomato sauce (optional)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees, spray down a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, blend your 1/2 cup (feel free to add more if you wish) of parmesan with your whole wheat bread crumbs. I added onion powder, parsley, sea salt and black pepper to my breadcrumbs. Adjust those according to your tastes.
  3. Next, mix your greek yogurt with parsley and sea salt. Drench the cutlets in the yogurt mix and then dip the cutlets into the bread crumb mixture. Place the breaded cutlets onto your prepared baking dish. You can top the cutlets with any remaining bread crumbs if you wish. Spray the cutlets with more cooking spray.
  4. Cook your cutlets at 450 degrees for 15-18 minutes – or until the center is no longer pink.

The sauce: (while your cutlets are a cooking)

  1. Take your can of tomatoes and dump them into a medium bowl.
  2. Season them with the olive oil, garlic, onion powder, parsley, sea salt and black pepper and stir, stir, stir!
  3. Chop up your onion and red pepper, add to your sauce blend.
  4.  I cracked open a jar of homemade spaghetti sauce that I had lying around and added it to my sauce mixture because I was a bit too generous with the olive oil. I only used MAYBE 1/4 of a cup and added it sparingly. This balanced the taste back out. Instead of spaghetti sauce (which is loaded with sugar and salt) you could simply use canned tomato sauce. Hopefully, you won’t need it, but if it’s your preference, throw some in there.
  5. Simmer on the stove until it’s warm.

**NOTE** I made this sauce mixture roughly two hours before dinner. But you can still do it shortly before meal time – that’s the beauty of it, it’s so easy. I put mine in the fridge and let all of the tastes mingle together. When mealtime came, I just dumped it all into a sauce pan and warmed it up. It was still amazingly delicious.

And also while your cutlets are cooking, boil yourself some whole wheat pasta of your choice or chop up some salad. If you choose to go with spaghetti squash, I would roast that in the oven BEFORE preparing your meal. Simply puncture the squash all over with a fork and place on a baking dish. Roast in the oven at 450 degrees for 45 minutes or until the squash is easily punctured with a fork. Slice your squash in half, and with a fork, pull the flesh out, discarding the seeds. I would let all of that cool for bit. 

When your cutlets are done, serve them over the side of your choice (salad, spaghetti squash or pasta and then spoon your tomato sauce mixture over your cutlets, and top with parmesan if you wish. And voila! Deliciousness that you don’t have to feel all that bad about.

photo-8

Enjoy!

Join the conversation!

