Not Today

I worry if I am sometimes too negative on my blog.

I have been given so much in my short life. I am a very, very fortunate lady. Though I try to take time out to reflect and to live consciously of just how much I have…I fall short. Don’t we all? I try to live a life that isn’t ignorant of or dismissive of all that I have. But it is never enough. I don’t say that dejectedly, I say that honestly.

It will truly never, ever be enough recognition because I have way too much to be thankful for. I don’t live in a picture perfect world, I don’t see life through rose-colored glasses. Sometimes, things just stink. I believe in being honest about the fact that life sometimes sucks. I think that, in these times especially, things have become superfluous and artificial. What matters the most, or should matter the most, has lost its priority in our lives. And what we should be weary of, they seem to have lost their sting, and we have become desensitized. We become complacent in guarding and protecting what we should and then it becomes too late. What matters most can slip away so quickly.

Too many euphemisms, too much obscurity. We don’t know the difference from up or down, or right from left. And then people are crushed when things go awry, because we have been told that if we shoot for the moon, we will land amongst the stars, or something like that. We are taught that with enough self-confidence, we can accomplish and fix anything.But that isn’t true, because this world IS broken.

But, I have hope. I have hope in restoration, and in renewal.

I have hope in eternity.

I have hope in Jesus.

And because I am holding this hope and knowledge, this is why I should live gratefully. I should be living a life filled with joy, love and honor. This is why I, we, should be overjoyed and blissfully happy people. Not because all is hunky dory and easy-going, but because even when things are not, it’s OK, because this isn’t a new concept to us. We knew that it was all hogwash from the beginning. We have hope that things get better, that there has to be something better. We know that there is.

There will always be some problem or issue to pick out in our lives. Some reason to give in to the chaos, the depression, the disorganization, the clutter, the noise…Not today. Today, I will not yield to it. Because I have hope. I have love. Troubles are there, but they are not all that is there or that this fleeting life is composed of. They amount to nothing in the end. Amidst grief, amidst doubt, amidst uncertainty and fear – I have hope. And I have love. And today, that is what rocks my world. Today, that is what I see. From this past week, that is what I see. That is what I acknowledge.

This was my week…

IMG_0225

IMG_0237

IMG_0242

IMG_0260

IMG_0273

IMG_0275

IMG_0288

IMG_0299

IMG_0301

IMG_0306

It was a good week.

Happy weekend, everyone.

7 thoughts on “Not Today

  1. Valerie says:

    I am certain that if we fail to consciously think on, ponder, meditate, or whatever, on the positives in our lives, we won’t naturally do it. Our minds always gravitate toward the negative. Which news stories get the most attention? Which headlines? The negative ones. :/
    We have to work at positivity until it becomes our norm. That may just be until we pass onto the next life! Striving for it myself. ❤
    Love the photos, btw.

    Like

    • ashleylecompte says:

      I completely agree with you! It takes training for us to focus on joy and the gifts that we have instead of being sidelined with things go wrong. But it is so comforting to know that no matter what, no matter how things go wrong – it doesn’t change our eternal inheritance.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. So glad that you like the pictures. 🙂

      Like

  2. st sahm says:

    I enjoyed reading about your week! Our human sinful nature doesn’t allow us to be happy all the time…which, for me, makes me appreciate genuine happiness even more! 🙂

    Like

  3. Zee says:

    Glad I found your blog through Valerie. I love this piece of writing. I too, am consciously focusing on the goods and positives in my life. Of course, there are days when things are bad and we are entitled to some form of negativity (we are but mere humans) but it is important to snap out of it and come to a realization that life is still good in general, and for that, we should give thanks.

    Like

    • ashleylecompte says:

      Thank you so much. I’m glad that you found me, as well. Thank you for commenting. Sometimes, we must be intentional about seeking out the good things in our life, because we are programmed to not notice them or be grateful for them as much as we should. We’re wired to be negative. At least, that is how I function.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Join the conversation!

