22 Days For Gratitude — Day 11: Dr. Pepper

<Gushing>

It really is the little things…

The other night, Rob decided to take Jerry for a walk around the block while I finished making dinner. Usually when the boys go for a walk they stop at Grand-mom and Grandpa’s house to be nosey and see what they’re up to. Normally, this works out great for Jerry in some way and this time was no exception – Grandpa gave him some change to bring back home and put into his piggy bank. On the way back home, Jerry began yammering and insisting that he wanted to surprise mommy with something. Rob finally figured out that Jerry wanted to buy me a soda at the vending machine in front of the local country store and give it to me as a surprise. Rob didn’t have any change, but checked Jerry’s pocket and found that Grandpa had given him three quarters amongst other coins. Rob asked Jerry several times to see if he really wanted to use his money to buy something for mommy, and Jerry kept insisting that he did. So they bought mommy and soda and hurried home to give it to me.

I was just sitting on the couch, thankful for at least a little bit of peace and quiet. I was tired. And I was actually trying to not have anymore soda since I have had so much of it lately. And Jerry came barreling into the room, in a wonderful mood and waving a Dr. Pepper in his hands, so very proud of what he did and so very happy that he had done something nice. I am not ashamed to say that I cried over a Dr. Pepper, because it really wasn’t the Dr. Pepper that I was so glad to see. It was such an immense blessing to see my little boy SO excited to have done something thoughtful and kind for his mommy. And it was something that he thought up all on his own, with hardly any assistance from daddy. Daddy did take the time to share with Jerry that it was a wonderful thing that he was doing for mommy because mommy does so much for him, which only made Jerry all the more excited to give mommy her treat. Which made it all the more moving that Rob would have taken the time to use this as an opportunity to instill an appreciation for mommy into Jerry’s heart even more.

Seeing one of my children overflowing with such goodness when just the night before I prayed that my children would have hearts that love and serve God in all that they do was one of the most  moving things I’ve ever experienced. It may not seem like much, but as I have said before, it isn’t quite the time for my children to rise up and call me blessed. That will hopefully (Lord willing) come sometime down the road. Every time I think that I have a handle on or have forgotten just how good God is, He finds some meager way to say, “No, LOOK and UNDERSTAND just how good I am.” I always thought that there were only a handful of things that little kids could be preoccupied with or focus on. I thought that these things can be somewhat limited to only a certain range of ideas, thoughts or feelings. It isn’t that I thought that they weren’t smart enough or able to do more, it’s just what I knew or figured was true…until I had children of my own.  As my children have gotten older and I see the differences between them, I realize just how immature and unfounded that notion was. My children continue to blow me away with all of the things that they are capable of, and one of those things is showing their affections. In some ways, I think that kids having it more together than we grown up’s do.

So today, I’m thankful for Dr. Pepper…but really, I’m thankful for my little boy and for his heart. I’m thankful that God can take the scales off of my eyes time and time again to see how good He is.

</Gushing>

(but not really)

2 thoughts on “22 Days For Gratitude — Day 11: Dr. Pepper

Join the conversation!

