22 Days for Gratitude – Day 3: Communication

:::The following words here are brought to you by Jerry:::

“Hey, I’m going to grow up and be 7 one day.”

“I’m just really excited to get to go to the post office with you.”

“Hey, I’m cold…could you pull up my pants??”

“I just love you today.”

“I’m just 3.”

“Maybe one day I can help daddy shave?”

“No, I just want to draw the letter “H.”

“V is for VAN.”

“I’m sorry that I don’t want to have a big, mean dump truck today…”

“You’re my baby, mommy.”

My kids are growing up.

This little fact is something that I so easily forget, even though it really isn’t little. Whether it is those lines on our wall in the dining room that tell me how many inches the kids have grown over the past year or the shoes that are already to small for Clara’s little feet, I realize in one way or another the inevitable truth of having children: they don’t stay children forever. And while there are days that I look forward to not having to change diapers or for these little hands to be able enough to tie their own shoes and brush their own teeth, there are plenty of things that I’m going to miss, and already do miss, about having littles. Like little hands and legs that have lost some of their baby fat. Babies that have grown out of reading one book and now prefer another. Babies that slowly and surely are working on trying to leave the nest one day, even though they don’t know it yet.

 While lately there have been days, days that have turned into week-long stretches, where I either feel like I’m failing or like it won’t ever get easier there has been in recent weeks things have in some ways become easier, and so much better than before. Yes, I’m still changing diapers. Yes, they still wake up (and wake me up…) in the middle of the night. And yes, the three-year old still gets stuck in the corner for being disobedient. But “it” is something that I wish I was a good enough writer to put into words. Something that I will sum up for today communication. A better sense of communication between my children and I.

First words are wonderful. The first time your child says “ball” or “momma” are some of the most defining moments as a parent. At least from what I can tell thus far in my limited experiences. And while those initial words are so very important it becomes an entirely new era as a parent when your children can begin to verbally communicate with you, at least it has for me. When it isn’t just random babble. I’m talking about when it is intentional, when there is meaning and love in some of those words. Like when my three-year old asks me if I’m feeling OK because he knows I have a headache, or when my little girl who says “amen” when we are done praying. Little hearts that can now convey some of the love that they feel, little mouths that can bless you so much, just by saying a simple “I love you.”

 It feels like those seeds that Rob and I have worked so hard to sow are slowly, but faithfully, now able to be reaped. It may not be much, but I feel like these moments are like seeing the buds poking out of the ground after a long winter. There has been much activity under the ground before we even can begin to see what will take place after they sprout out of the earth.

Proverbs 16:24

“Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”

I feel like in some small way God has answered prayers or pleas for help that I never knew I had even prayed. There is a reason that God points out in Proverbs 31 how an amiable wife and mother’s children shall one day rise up and call her blessed. While I don’t exactly foresee my 3-year-old uttering those specific words tomorrow morning, when he tells me that he loves me, when he tells me that I’m his best friend, he may as well be saying that I am blessed. For I most surely am.

So today, I am thankful for Communication. Communication with my children and husband, first and foremost. For loving words, for honorable words. Life giving and healing words.

For you, consider those around you. Those that you love. Those sweet words that build you up. Are you thankful for them? And for the love behind them.

Happy Monday!

Join the conversation!

