22 Days For Gratitude – Day 1: Grace

This will probably induce a little bit of eye-rolling. Come on, a string of posts dedicated to being thankful…during the month of Thanksgiving?

I know, not necessarily original. But it isn’t meant to be.

I have always felt like what I write and eventually end up sharing on my blog should be as close to what I am walking through in life as possible… save for giving out too much information that just isn’t necessary (I definitely don’t think you guys need to know what type of toilet paper I use or pet names that Rob and I have for one another. Except for ‘pookie doo’, that is actually are our real name.) I feel like God keeps circling me around the same messages lately. The same issues and the same mountains to climb. The same problems on a regular basis have kept popping up. I don’t believe in coincidence.

He keeps bringing me back to the need of being more patient.

He keeps bringing me back to the need to be more joyful.

He keeps bringing me back to the need to be more bold.

He keeps bringing me back to Himself, who can empower me to do all of these things.

And to be thankful that He is who He is.

The Importance of Living With Gratitude

Why the emphasis on gratitude?? I believe that living a worshipful, kind and love filled life has quite a bit to do with living with a heart of thanksgiving. After all, just what is it that we are excited and joyful about except for the people, things and gifts that we are grateful to have?? I believe that gratitude can lead to contentment. I believe that gratitude can lead to joy. I believe that gratitude can lead to being more kind, more forgiving and more patient. I think a great deal of these things truly are intertwined too living within a frame of mind that is grateful to our Heavenly Father for the things that we have. When we are grateful for the grace, love and mercy that we have been shown, when we are grateful for the blessings that we have been given this then allows us to in turn act out these things to others. This allows us to be unique vessels for God to glorify Himself through.

Being more grateful allows you to praise and glorify God more. Being more grateful allows you to cultivate a perspective that strives to be more patient, understanding, loving and strong. Living with a grateful heart and in a thankful state of mind allows us to love and help others in ways that we can only imagine.

Over the next month, I am going to be seeking out ways in my life that I can cultivate and live out a life that is more grateful.

Grateful for…what?

First things first:

Ephesians 2: 4-10

4 But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us,

5 even when we were dead in our transgressions,

made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),

6 and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,

7 so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches

of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.

8 For by grace you have been saved through faith;

and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;

9 not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.

10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works,

which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

Here on Day 1, I am thankful that it took nothing from me for Jesus to perfect His work on the cross. And that salvation is still an act that requires NOTHING from me. It doesn’t require me to be perfect or flawless in order for its purpose to be achieved. It requires and relies on God, in His perfection and might to achieve all it sets out to do. I am grateful that I am forgiven. I am grateful that I am accepted.

More than that, I am grateful for what I have been saved FROM.

Ephesians 2:2

2 And you were dead in your trespasses and sins, in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world…

I was dead, I was a shell, I was empty. I no longer am. This is the good news, this is the greatest thing to be thankful for: For what you have been saved from and what you have been adopted into. And for what this act means for us and for the rest of our lives.

I can’t assure you that I will post everyday. I barely find the time to post a handful of times each month, let alone once a day. And these posts will range from the everyday to the spiritual. You can certainly join me. Post about the things you are most grateful for in your life, whether you are a believer or not. Write about the things and people you are most fortunate to have. Anyone could most certainly use more gratitude in their lives. Follow along with me. And if you do, comment and tell me and others about it. Write to me personally and tell me about it. I can’t tell you what a blessing it is when I hear from folks who read my blog.

Happy THURSDAY!

2 thoughts on “22 Days For Gratitude – Day 1: Grace

  1. Sarah says:

    I am certainly thankful everyday of the year… but I love that this time of year creates an atmosphere of gratitude all around. It is good to take time to really consider all the wonderful that is in our lives. ❤

    Like

Join the conversation!

