I Took His Hand…

I’ve recently been confronted with the fact that my son may be starting school in about a year. This is mind boggling. It turns out that people really aren’t kidding when they say that these precious years are so fleeting. Between realizing that Jerry could be starting school in the fall of 2013 and noting that the sandals I bought him earlier this summer are close to not fitting him anymore, I’m sensing that he is truly working on transitioning to being a full fledged big boy. This makes me feel overjoyed but at the same time, I can’t fully convey how bittersweet this all feels.

Now knowing that having a school age child is literally around the corner (and trying to uncoil myself from the mental fetal position I feel like my brain is in since realizing my little guy could potentially not be at home full time in 13 months) my brain has been churning with thoughts about how I want to see my child (and children) educated. I’m trying to fully discern how I feel about public, private and homeschooling education paths.

I used to think homeschooling wasn’t for me. I would want to see my children socialized and have the same schooling experiences that Rob and I had. After all, we are literally a mile away from the elementary school we went to, which also happens to be one of the best in the county. It would seem like an absolute no-brainer that this would be where our babies would spend their early education years.

Enter divine intervention.

Lately, I’ve had a check in my spirit about my kiddos attending elementary school. I can only say that I feel like God is changing both my mind and my heart on the issue. Don’t get me wrong, I am not knocking on, and am proud of, my education through the public system. But I also don’t think I can confidently say that I feel education is a one size fits all thing. Each child is different. Each method has its pros and cons.

So with some time spent online researching one thing or another I’ve concluded that…as of yet I don’t have a conclusion. I’m not sure how I’ll be seeing these schooling-years through. But as I am at the cusp of what could be the last year of Jerry being at home full time, I do feel like I’ve decided on my approach for the next year (or potentially two) and how my special guy, and gal, and I will spend it.

I came across a website today that I have really enjoyed reading. On top of providing good information on theories of early childhood education and development, it also has a fantastic list of ideas for activities and simple everyday experiences that any parent can take part in, capitalize on and enjoy with their child.

I’ve copied and pasted a poem at the end of this post that best sums up how I feel in my heart about the next year. A great reminder for any mom, be she preparing to send her babies to school for the first time or for another year, or about to embark on home schooling her littles come this fall. Learning doesn’t end at the end of a school day. Every moment we have with them is precious and an opportunity to not only teach and encourage them but also an opportunity to enjoy them and the blessing they are to us.

And who knows, no matter how your baby is educated, maybe we will learn a thing or two (or twelve) yourselves.

“I Took His Hand and Followed.”
by: Mrs. Roy Piefer

My dishes went unwashed today,

I didn’t make the bed,

I took his hand and followed

Where his eager footsteps led.

Oh yes, we went adventuring,

My little son and I…

Exploring all the great outdoors

Beneath the summer sky

We waded in a crystal stream,

We wandered through a wood…

My kitchen wasn’t swept today

But life was gay and good.

We found a cool, sun-dappled glade

And now my small son knows

How Mother Bunny hides her nest,

Where jack-in-the-pulpit grows.

We watched a robin feed her young,

We climbed a sunlit hill…

Saw cloud-sheep scamper through the sky,

We plucked a daffodil.

That my house was neglected,

That I didn’t brush the stairs,

In twenty years, no one on earth

Will know, or even care.

But that I’ve helped my little boy

To noble manhood grow,

In twenty years, the whole wide world

May look and see and know.

3 thoughts on “I Took His Hand…

  1. Valerie says:

    It was awesome for me when the Lord intervened and started showing me what I would be missing if our daughter were to go to school in the future. She was only TWO years old at the time, mind you, so I shouldn’t even have been thinking about school (and I wasn’t, actually.) But I remember clear as day that summer she was two; she had started doing crafts with me and listened to book after book with me in the evenings, and He brought to my mind that I’d be “missing” something if/when she went to school. NEVER before had I thought I’d be a homeschooling mother! LOL No, I had enjoyed school and thought we’d be sending her to school as well. But nope, the Lord was strongly directing me in a different way!
    The next few years were spent researching all I could on homeschooling methods, materials, etc. and just kind of getting used to the idea (and getting excited!!). I began actively teaching her when she was 4. And by teach, I mean that I did lots of educational games, lessons, and activities. It was FUN stuff, not “school-ish”. 😉

    There is a lot more I could say on the subject, but I won’t go on or I’d be here all night! Just know that I think it’s great that you are open to what the Holy Spirit is doing. Maybe He wants you to just keep him at home for that first year and get involved in a homeschooling group (for socialization) and then let him attend in 1st grade. You never know, it’s not ALL or NOTHING necessarily. But it could be that you’re a hard-core homeschooling mama and you don’t even know it! 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation!

