Year One…

I told you that I had a surprise in mind to commemorate one year of my being home as a full time momma. I asked my husband to write a post about the blessings of a stay at home mom. He graciously agreed. He is awesome. That is all you need to know before you read.

Onward….

Alright, I really dislike blogging…I can literally think of a million things I’d rather do than share my feelings with whoever you are. BUT, I love my wife more than I dislike blogging, so I will do as she asked and commemorate her one year of being a stay at home mom, for any of you that are still reading this after that last sentence…

It definitely takes a special kind of person to stay at home with the same people all day…every day; to put aside your own desires for the betterment of others. Because being a mom IS the most important job in the entire world. As a dad, my role as the bread-winner can be replaced by any of the other millions of people that have an income-earning job. The President gets re-elected every four years. And rocket scientists? I mean, do we REALLY need to go to the moon? Nah…but we do need kids to grow up and have direction in their life and have attention from those they love most. It is absolutely impossible to replace mom. You know how nice you feel when someone takes time out of their day to do something good for you? It’s kind of like that, but instead of taking time out of their day, stay at home moms take time out of their life – in the neighborhood of 18 years. They say that behind every great man is an even greater woman. I would agree. In this case, it would be the mom.

Case in point: I consider myself to be a pretty patient person; able to endure anything. But yesterday, Ashley went to a bridal shower and was gone for about 5 hours. It’s not that I haven’t had the kids before, but it was just one of those days. It gave me a great appreciation of how much she goes through every day for far more than 5 hours. As I looked around at the messy house, my dream of keeping the kids fed, happy, and entertained, all while surprising Ashley with a spotless house when she got home, went right down the drain. I also realized that Proverbs 14:4 refers to more than just farm-life. “Where there are no oxen, the manger is clean, but abundant crops come by the strength of the ox.” In this case the manger is our house, the ox poop is childrens’ toys scattered in every room, and the abundant harvest is the pitter-patter of little feet, giggling fits, random hugs, and moments of silliness that only a happy child can provide. I’m glad that I have a wife that makes that all possible. I’m glad that I have a wife that is better than me.

“An excellent wife is the crown of her husband…” You’re my crown – my greatest treasure. Thank you for being such a blessing to our family, I love you.

I totally didn’t know he was going to try to surprise me with a spotless house. He’s the greatest. I’m so glad to be able to celebrate having been home for a year and honored to make (to try, at least) a home that is harmonious and warm. A place that my husband and children like being. I’m grateful for my identity in Christ, for the role that the Lord authored for me, long before I was here. I hope for another year of happy children, good cookin’ and joy.

Yep.

6 thoughts on “Year One…

  1. mamacain says:

    1st of all: if you had known, i t wouldn’t have been a surprise.
    2nd: robert- ya dun gooood!
    3rd: ashley: you are an amazing, beautiful, wonderful mama. You provide a safe, loving, godly environment for your children. I am so proud to call you my friend 🙂

    Like

  2. Becca says:

    Wow…I so heart you guys and your marriage and family. I really do. The struggles and the good times…just speak to the amazing people that you are and the incredible God that guides you. God Bless this fabulous family!!!!

    Like

Join the conversation!

