Ears On

My husband and I bicker sometimes. Some days more than others, some days not at all. Usually our bickering is rooted in the desire for one of us to prove the other one wrong over something otherwise trivial. It is almost always rooted in finding fun in being competitive for no good reason. A week or so ago, on a Sunday morning, while getting ready for church my husband and I fell upon the discussion of what Sunday actually is. Rob’s frame of thinking is that Sundays are the weekend, therefore the last day of the week. The way that I had always figured, Sundays were the beginning of the week. And seeing as how they sit at the BEGINNING of a new week on each calendar, I’d say I’m pretty sure I might possibly be right, thank you Julius Caesar. Time in scripture as of late has had me finding passages that seem to have a common theme. And even some sisters in Christ have found and are sharing parts of the word that they too have been studying. And my argument discussion with Rob brought this all to the forefront of my mind, and was almost like it all hit me at once. I used to think that Sundays were a great way to begin a week. You have fellowship with the saints, time to worship, hear the message and share in communion with him. Rob’s conversation got me thinking…should it matter where a Sunday falls on the timeline of a week? Whether or not I view my time on the Sabbath as the beginning of a week or an end, to view it as solely as one or the other would be incorrect. And for that matter, whether I view my time during the week, the day in and day out hustle and bustle as either simply chronos (minutes, hours, days) time or kairos ( (the metaphysical and ethereal)  time would also be missing the point. My time at Sabbath should mark the end of and beginning of my week. A time to cap off what should be a week spent living in God’s promises. Living in His righteousness and His word. A time to take bread and confess my heart and my hurts. A time to pour out what has been building inside of me all week. It should also be a time to leave feeling renewed. A time to leave, looking forward to His works throughout the week. A time to anticipate new joys found in Him. My days of the week shouldn’t be thus divided into time to be “with” the Lord and the time for everything else – after all, does the Lord really have His hand in when I do the dishes? The Lord shouldn’t be my covering for the week. He shouldn’t be my fail safe, or fall back plan. And even placing Him at the forefront of my time wouldn’t entirely be getting it right either.

The Lord is time. The Lord is our time. 

15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. 

16 For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible,

whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him.

17 And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

He gives us His time. It is a gift. He should be the thread which holds our weeks, days and even hours together. The Lord promises rest for those that come to Him. He promises joy for those that seek Him. He promises to offer to us that which is everlasting.

Isaiah 55: 3

“Incline your ear and come to me;

hear, that your soul may live, 

and I will make with you an everlasting covenant…”

The Lord holds all things together. For those that rest in Him, He promises an eternal covenant. He promises Himself. He speaks in terms of eternity. And while He relates to us by eternity, He also relates to us by His seasons.

So much of my reading as of late has spoken of seasons. The earth that has been tilled and churned, ready for and receiving water. Then sprouting, bursting forth with life. He knows that sometimes, we will get lost and miss the big picture, the grand picture. We will toil in our days. We will have worry. We will have anxiety. We will have trials and tests. He promises to us that that which he unearths, He will use for His might and His glory.

Isaiah 55 10-11:

“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven

and do not return there but water the earth

making it bring forth sprout, 

giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater

so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;

it shall not return to me empty,

but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, 

and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.” 

Each Sunday, each day, hour or moment is the Lord’s. Filled with our Lord’s time. He did create it, after all. Sometimes, when I am caught up in the day and with it all of the aggravations it can bring, I need to look forward. To rest in the Lord and His promises. To find my peace, capability and sometimes, worth through him. To see that He is cultivating and giving me things that are not perishable. That His word and promises don’t change.  But sometimes, when I am caught up in wanting to see the big picture come to fruition and to prematurely hurry things along, I must take a step back and survey where I am. The season I am in, the trials the Lord has at hand for me in the present. Whether it be feast or famine, it is from my God’s hand. It is good. He has His works to accomplish, I am only the messenger. A small factor in the big equation. And no matter if I am in the dessert, no matter if I am in lush gardens, it is the Lord who will accomplish all that is great if I am in Him.

Isaiah 58: 6-12

6 “Is not this the fast that I choose:

to loose the bonds of wickedness,

to undo the straps of the yoke,

to let the oppressed go free,

and to break every yoke?

7 Is it not to share your bread with the hungry

and bring the homeless poor into your house;

when you see the naked, to cover him,

and not to hide yourself from your own flesh?

8Then shall your light break forth like the dawn,

and your healing shall spring up speedily;

your righteousness shall go before you;

the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.

9 Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer;

you shall cry, and he will say, ‘Here I am.’

If you take away the yoke from your midst,

the pointing of the finger, and speaking wickedness,

10 if you pour yourself out for the hungry

and satisfy the desire of the afflicted,

then shall your light rise in the darkness

and your gloom be as the noonday.

11 And the Lord will guide you continually

and satisfy your desire in scorched places

and make your bones strong;

and you shall be like a watered garden,

like a spring of water,

whose waters do not fail.

12 And your ancient ruins shall be rebuilt;

you shall raise up the foundations of many generations;

you shall be called the repairer of the breach,

the restorer of streets to dwell in.

I pray that the next time I find myself wanting to hurry the clock along, or the weeks along, that I will remember to stop. To see this all as fruitful and beautiful time. To take note of where I am, to thank God for my blessings and ask Him to continue to bless me. I pray I remember what it is that the Lord is cultivating, and that I may be a good stewart of it. I pray that the next time I’me eager to see and make things how I would have them, or the next time I have fears about what is to come, that the Lord would pull me back from that precipice and take the blinders off of my eyes so that I may say and relish in the here and now.

Maybe by the time I’m 150 years old I’ll have all of this down, and stop questioning and “fixing” time, my seasons or my circumstances. Yea, right, I did say “maybe.”

Join the conversation!

