Reh-reh-reh-REEEEMIIIIIX!

I’m a playlist/mix c.d. junkie.

I love making playlists from my favorite songs from both the present and the past and could do so all day. I never stop tinkering to make what I think is the “perfect playlist.” And typically, my song lists feature tunes from ALL different genres. I’m not sure why I enjoy it so much, but I do. And I’m not sure what to refer to my making “personality” as. We’ll just say ridiculous for now.

Like I said, I’ll blend songs from all across the board on a playlist. I’ll have country, rock and pop all on the same mix and then turn around and have more obscure stuff mixed with adult contemporary on the next one. Though it may sound like there isn’t, there is most certainly a rhyme and reason behind all of my mixing efforts.

I can’t have a super fast paced song lead right into something quiet and soft, or vice versa. And while a c.d. or playlist may have several songs by the same artists, very VERY rarely are those songs back to back. Again, it is all about the pacing and feeling from a good playlist. Sometimes music can be the cherry on top to a perfect moment. At least, for me it is. I’m all about ambiance, people!!

I just finished what will be my Christmas 2011 playlist. How could a Christmas playlist change from year to year? I’m not sure. It sometimes stems from where I am and what is going on for me at the present moment. This year, my list features more traditional, introspective and softer songs to celebrate the season. And I’m thinking that it might just be my favorite. Some of these songs cause me to recall Christmases while growing up, which is odd seeing as how almost all of them are on the newer side. But, perhaps I get the warm and fuzzy feeling because after looking at it, I realized that most of these songs celebrate the birth of our savior which undoubtedly is the most important reason for the holiday season. God has been so good to us this past year. And as we look down the barrel of a brand new year, and some of us cannot wait to kiss this year goodbye, each new year reminds me that his grace, blessings and gifts aren’t just new with each passing new year. They’re new everyday. His works are new all of the time. And yet, the most miraculous gift of all is still the one given to us 2000 years ago. A savior, borne of a Virgin, who lived a perfect life, was tested as we are and in all love and humility then died for our sins. Only to raise again from the dead and be triumphant over death itself to give us newness of life and hope. If that doesn’t put the holly in your heart, then I’m not sure what else would. Except for MAYBE a new sweater or some new bubble bath (hint hint, honey.) Just kidding. 🙂

I feel like some of you might also enjoy my playlist. So that said and without much further ado…really though, who has further “ado?” I mean honestly…

Without further interruption, my Christmas 2011 Playlist:

1. “O Holy Night” Celine Dion

2. “Silent Night” Martina McBride

3. “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas” Michael Buble

5. “O Little Town Of Bethlehem” Sara Mclachlan

6. “New Again” Sara Evans and Brad Paisley

7. “Do You Hear What I Hear?” Third Day

8. “White Christmas” Rascal Flatts

9. “Song for A Winter’s Night” Sara Mclachlan

10. “The Prayer” Celine Dion and Andre Bocelli

11. “Carol Of The Bells” Manheim Steamroller

12. “What Child Is This? (Greensleeves”) Sara Mclachlan

13. “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” Michael Buble

14.”A Baby Changes Everything” Faith Hill

15.”Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” Frank Sinatra

16.”Who Would Imagine A King” Katharine McPhee

 

So there you go. Maybe you’ll find some of the songs on here and enjoy them for yourselves. And tell me, what are some of your favorite songs to celebrate the holidays by? And if I see you often and you want a copy, let me know. I’ll burn you one. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Reh-reh-reh-REEEEMIIIIIX!

  1. Becca says:

    Add “The Angels Cried” by Alan Jackson and Allison Krauss and I’d say that’s a dern good CD, my friend! 😛 PS….love you and need to exchange gifts!!!
    xoxoxoxox
    ME

    Like

Join the conversation!

