A Day Late…

I’m already behind on what should be days two and three of my photo adventure. I’ve decided to call this photo journal “Its The Little Things.” Indeed, it usually is.

Since I’m a day late, here are my photos from yesterday.  Here is what had me soft shoeing all around town – in my soul, anyway- yesterday…

11/9/11    

So, I want you to try to not be disappointed in me but…before yesterday, I had never tried a McDonald’s apple pie. That said, I also want you to try to not dislike me because…until recent years…I was never an apple pie fan. I love apples, applesauce, apple crumb anything and apple cake…but apple pie was something I couldn’t ever get into.  I’m growing out of that phase, so don’t worry. It each bite is more delicious than the last.

11/10/11

So today turned out to be a little bit trickier for me to find something that made my insides get warm and fuzzy. My beautiful Clara hasn’t been sleeping at night. I’m typically up 3-4 times between 12 a.m. and 8 a.m..  And I’m to the point where I’m ready to pull my hair out and want to hit someone with a spatula when they try to tell me how tired THEY are. Which is selfish of me, I know. sleep depravation is sleep depravation. Several weeks of this, and I feel like we’ve regressed even more backwards than the newborn stage. I don’t know what to call it, but it hasn’t been fun. I would LOVE even 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep.

That said, as I was cleaning my kitchen for the SECOND (argh) time today, I realized the beautiful view I have while I’m standing at my sink. The leaves are changing on the trees in my yard, the sun is usually shining and the sky is full of clouds. One day, I know my backyard will have children running around and playing in it. For now, I’ll settle for staring at the Crate Myrtle tree whose leaves have changed into a beautiful burnt orange color. I love this season.  Thanksgiving is looming and the weather is turning. Not that I don’t use it other times of the year, but it is perfect crock pot weather. Time for chili and cornbread.  Time for stews and soups.

I used to think I held the most memories from summer days gone by, but every year I’m reminded of how the fall weather  really makes my mind tick. The sound of Canada Geese flying over head (literally, one of my favorite sounds ever,) the sight of deer eating in the fields at dusk, football (yes, football), wood stoves burning and lacing the air with a smokey fragrance. This time of year is a time that I treasure. I know, who turned on the Hallmark Card in me.  To those of you who may be thinking that I say…shut up.

I wasn’t with it today. I had to seek the joy out, I’m ashamed to say. But as I’ve been blessed with 20 minutes to sit down and write this, I can’t help to think that my backyard has always been there. Clearly, Captain Obvious. Its just that I don’t always notice it like I should. I don’t grasp and appreciate a lot of things like I should. Its like God removes the film over your eyes just in time for you to catch something that you need. I needed to stop and appreciate this today. And He being an all knowing God who is patient knew this as well. He knew that my day would be altered by noticing something small.

Here are a few of the photos that I was able to take of and from my kitchen window. I’ll post a few more on my Life In Motion page when time allows.

“… and it’s that if I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own backyard; because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with.”

-Dorothy Gale, The Wizard of Oz

6 thoughts on “A Day Late…

  1. Becca says:

    I love that the black-and-white makes the cross in your window shine that much brighter as it stands out in the relief. Very cool. Love and miss you…wish you were in my backyard!!!!
    xoxoxoxox
    BECCA

    Like

Join the conversation!

